Petra Korner Receives Kodak Vision Award

Petra Korner accepted the Kodak Vision Award for Cinematography at the 2009 Women In Film Crystal + Lucy® Awards in Los Angeles 

Jonathan Levin and Petra Korner (Photo courtesy of WIF)
on June 12. The award is presented annually to a female filmmaker with outstanding achievements in cinematography, who also collaborates with and assists women in the entertainment industry. Director Jonathan Levine bestowed the accolade. Additional honorees at the event included Jennifer Aniston, Holly Hunter, Elizabeth Banks, and Catherine Hardwicke. 

Korner was born in Vienna and studied filmmaking at New York University, where she received the Nestor Almendros Award for outstanding cinematography while she was a student. She went on to earn a master's at the American Film Institute, and began her career filming music videos before segueing into narrative filmmaking.

Korner recently completed her collaboration with director Wes Craven on the production of the thriller 25/8. She earned her first cinematography credit for the feature length film Mommy's House in 2007. Her notable credits include The Wackness, which won the 2008 Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival, and Burgua dii Ebo (The Wind and the Water), which was nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at the festival that same year. Her more recent credits include The Informers and Collectibles.

"I'm thrilled to receive this award from Kodak," said Korner. "The list of cinematographers who have previously received it is impressive, and it's an honor to be in that illustrious company. I am fortunate to be shooting on the medium of my choice. I love shooting Kodak film as much as I love my job, and I plan to continue for the rest of my career."

Previous recipients of the Kodak Vision Award include Nancy Schreiber, ASC, Sandi Sissel, ASC, Ellen Kuras, ASC, Lisa Rinzler, Amelia Vincent, ASC, Carolyn Chen, Tami Reiker, ASC, Maryse Alberti, Uta Briesewitz and Mandy Walker, ACS, among others.

Since 1977, Women In Film, Los Angeles has honored some of the most creative, prolific and socially responsible individuals in the entertainment industry, those who lead by example. The Crystal Awards were established in 1977 to honor outstanding women who, through their endurance and the excellence of their work, have helped to expand the role of women within the entertainment industry. The Lucy Awards were established to recognize women and men and their creative works that exemplify the extraordinary accomplishments of Lucille Ball; whose excellence and innovation enhanced the perception of women through the medium of television. For more information, visit